Sharon’s review Ana Takes Manhattan by Lissette Decos

Posted March 3, 2023 by Sharon in Mainstream, Reviews, Sharon/Slick / 0 Comments

Sharon’s review Ana Takes Manhattan by Lissette DecosAna Takes Manhattan by Lissette Decos
Published by Grand Central Publishing on February 28, 2023
Genres: Fiction / Humorous / General, Fiction / Romance / Contemporary, Fiction / Romance / Multicultural & Interracial, Fiction / Romance / Romantic Comedy, Fiction / Women
Pages: 336
Format: ARC, eBook, Paperback
Buy on Amazon
2 Stars

Fans of Abby Jimenez and Alexis Daria will love this novel about one New York City woman skilled in producing swoon‑worthy reality TV shows but whose own life is a mess, with nothing ever going according to plan.

As a reality TV producer, Ana Karina orchestrates extravagant marriage proposals that always (well, mostly) go as planned. When they don’t, she’s not afraid to cut and paste scenes to make the moment picture-perfect. If only Ana’s own life was as simple to direct. Her colleagues are getting promotions. Her best friend and her younger sister are both getting married. Everyone is moving forward—except Ana.

Sick of feeling stuck, she decides to start living with no regrets. She’s going to pitch all her ideas at work, no matter how unlikely. She’ll take a chance on a guy even if he doesn’t check all her boxes for Mr. Right. Soon, she’s swept up in a roller coaster of exhilarating dates—a comedy show, a Jane Austen reenactment, a rave pool party, and a whirlwind trip to Vienna. With all this excitement, Ana should be on her way to her own happily-ever-after, but instead her life is getting messier by the second.

Yet throwing caution to the wind may still bring Ana more than she hoped for as she begins to listen to her heart and realizes the life—and man—truly meant for her might be the one she never saw coming.

While I do think some might find what Ana does for a living interesting and they might even enjoy her dating misadventures for me it was tiring and not all that interesting. ~ Sharon – Simply Love Books

 

TW: cheating and implied cheating

The synopsis of this book caught my eye and I was excited to read it, unfortunately this one didn’t work for me. The heroine wasn’t a likeable character, the “romance” took way too long to come about, and while I appreciate a good list I’m truly surprised she didn’t have a list on the proper way to go to use the bathroom.  She drove me absolutely nuts and when I can’t connect to a character in a book, that’s not a good thing.

Ana is a reality TV producer of an over the top marriage proposal show. When her latest proposal goes awry she loses her favorite editor to another producer who seems to be in favor with the network manager and her new editor is a man who thinks what Ana’s show does is ridiculous. On top of that her best friend is getting married and Ana worries that her friend’s cousins aren’t stepping up with the wedding planning, but she’s on top of it with her millions of lists.

Ana wants to find a man, and remembering the list she made of her perfect man in college she realizes that she knows four men who satisfy each of the four characteristics she wants in a man so she decides to date all four at the same time. She does learn from this experience, more what she doesn’t want in a relationship but honestly I just didn’t find this all that interesting. It was like she was going through the motions when she knew none of these men were right for her, so why bother?  All the while there was a man waiting to figure out what she did want out of a relationship.

This book was too busy and had no focus and therefore I slogged through it, it took me days to read when I normally finish a book a day but I just couldn’t make myself keep reading it at times. While I do think some might find what Ana does for a living interesting and they might even enjoy her dating misadventures for me it was tiring and not all that interesting.

2 Stars

Posted March 3, 2023 by Sharon in Mainstream, Reviews, Sharon/Slick / 0 Comments