Sharon’s review ~ In A New York Minute by Kate Spencer

Posted January 13, 2023 by Sharon in Mainstream, Reviews, Sharon/Slick / 0 Comments

Sharon’s review ~ In A New York Minute by Kate SpencerIn a New York Minute by Kate Spencer
Published by Grand Central Publishing on March 15, 2022
Genres: Fiction / Friendship, Fiction / Humorous / General, Fiction / Romance / Contemporary, Fiction / Romance / Romantic Comedy, Fiction / Women
Pages: 368
Format: eBook, Paperback
Source: Purchased for review
Buy on Amazon

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

Find the Author: Website, Twitter, Amazon
4 Stars

A clever, tender, and romantic "Nora Ephron romp for the modern ages" (Christina Lauren) for readers of Jasmine Guillory, Abby Jimenez, and Sophie Cousens, this laugh-out-loud debut is a perceptive reminder that fate can have a sense of humor, and that love can happen . . . In a New York Minute.

Franny Doyle is having the worst day. She’s been laid off from her (admittedly mediocre) job, the subway doors ripped her favorite silk dress to ruins, and now she’s flashed her unmentionables to half of lower Manhattan. On the plus side, a dashing stranger came to her rescue with his (Gucci!) suit jacket. On the not-so-plus side, he can’t get away from her fast enough.

Worse yet? Someone posted their (entirely not) meet-cute online. Suddenly Franny and her knight-in-couture, Hayes Montgomery III, are the newest social media sensation, and all of New York is shipping #SubwayQTs.

Only Franny and Hayes couldn’t be a more disastrous match. She’s fanciful, talkative, and creative. He’s serious, shy, and all about numbers. Luckily, in a city of eight million people, they never have to meet again. Yet somehow, Hayes and Franny keep running into each other—and much to their surprise, they enjoy each other’s company. A lot. But when Franny’s whole world is turned upside down (again!), can she find the courage to trust in herself and finally have the life—and love—she’s always wanted?

“Spins a catastrophic meet-cute into a richly realized romance that's surrounded by even more love stories—between friends, between families, and between New Yorkers and their city. You'll devour it.”
—Heather Cocks and Jessica Morgan, USA Today bestselling authors of The Royal We and The Heir Affair
 
“A love story to friendship, discovering what—and who—makes you feel truly yourself, and New York City. I flew through this book and enjoyed every moment!
—Jasmine Guillory, New York Times bestselling author of While We Were Dating
 
“A sparkling delight about found and chosen family, being brave even in the tiny moments, and the rewards we can reap when we put our authentic selves out there. What a sweet, hilarious treat.”
—Christina Lauren, New York Times bestselling author
 
“A frolicky, playful rom-com about finding Mr. Right when everything else goes wrong.”
—Abby Jimenez, New York Times bestselling author of Life’s Too Short
                                                                       
“A perfect New York romance, as sweet, steamy, and surprising as the city itself.”
—Abbi Waxman, USA Today bestselling author of The Bookish Life of Nina Hill
 
“If you’re looking for the perfect ‘meet cute,’ look no further.  Adorable banter and countless laugh-out-loud moments makes this charming romance a true delight.”
—Farrah Rochon, USA Today bestselling author of The Dating Playbook

Not only was A New Your Minute a story of life and love, it was a love letter to NYC and I enjoyed it immensely. ~ Sharon – Simply Love Books

 

So thanks to Kate Spencer I’ve had New York Minute by Don Henley blaring in my head for over 24 hours now and I’m honestly not sorry but damn, talk about an earworm. This is one of those books that I could see as a movie, it just played that well in my head as I read and it was one of those books that I could not put down once I started it. The characters from the lead to the secondary were all interesting, flawed, wonderful, and unique. The plot kept me hooked; will they or won’t they? While billed as a romance and there was one within the pages it was a serious slow burn which honestly was perfect for this couple, but I also felt it was more of a women’s fiction story with romantic elements.  I loved this book for the most part, their big blow out I felt was a bit overdone and unnecessary, but because the rest of it was so good, I didn’t let that one part override my good feelings about the rest of the book. Not only was A New Your Minute a story of life and love, it was a love letter to NYC and I enjoyed it immensely.

After losing her job of 6 years due to downsizing, Franny Doyle’s day just gets worse when her favorite dress gets caught in the doors of the subway and rips threatening to cause her to moon the people on the platform. While several people offer to help, a handsome stranger insists she takes his suit jacket right before his stop. When the whole scene plays out on social media by someone who took pictures and video of it going down, Franny becomes an internet sensation along with the handsome stranger, Hayes Montgomery III. One the advice of her best friends Franny agrees to be on a local morning tv show about the incident, Hayes agrees to please his business partner to help the publicity of their growing company, but their “reunion” doesn’t go quite as planned, yet they seem to keep running in to one another and each time they both get this feeling of belonging.

These two were pretty opposite with Franny being outgoing and creative and Hayes is a bit socially awkward and preferring to be alone, but I also felt like they complemented one another. There were quite a few funny scenes and Franny has some big life decisions to make throughout which led her to not always make the best choices in how to handle her growing feelings towards Hayes. At one point I wanted to pull a Moonstruck on Franny, hit her upside the head and tell her to “snap out of it.”

My biggest problem is that we didn’t get more time with these two together as a couple, an epilogue would have been nice just to give us a hint at how their relationship progresses down the line, but we didn’t get it so I just wrote my own in my head.

An adorable, funny, and thoroughly entertaining story that has me wanting to visit NYC again and look for these two enjoying the city they love so much and the city where they fell in love. Bravo!

4 Stars

About Kate Spencer

Kate Spencer is the co-host of the award-winning podcast Forever35 and author of the memoir The Dead Moms Club. In a New York Minute is her first novel. She writes a bi-monthly column for InStyle and her work has been published by the Washington Post, Rolling Stone, Esquire, Cosmopolitan, Buzzfeed, and numerous other places. Previously she worked as a senior editor and producer at VH1. She lives in Los Angeles with her husband and two daughters.

Posted January 13, 2023 by Sharon in Mainstream, Reviews, Sharon/Slick / 0 Comments